FotoFocus Biennial 2016: FotoFocus Executive Director, Mary Ellen Goeke speaking at the Mayoral Proclamation. Photo by Ryan Elliott


Founded in 2010 in Cincinnati, Ohio, FotoFocus is a nonprofit organization created to celebrate and champion photography as the medium of our time through programming that ignites a dialogue between contemporary lens-based art and the history of photography. FotoFocus presents lens-based signature programming including the FotoFocus Biennial, FotoFocus Symposium, FotoFocus Film Program, and FotoFocus Talks Series. Additionally, FotoFocus has awarded over 500 grants to support partners presenting projects and educational programs that are accessible and engaging to the public. These initiatives are a vital part of what makes FotoFocus such an impactful contributor to the community and the larger art world.


FotoFocus collaborates to present and support photography and lens-based projects that are accessible, enriching, and engaging to a diverse public.


Inspiring conversations about the world through the art of photography.

FotoFocus Biennial 2012: Guests viewing Star Power: Edward Steichen’s Glamour Photography at the Taft Museum of Art.

Who We Are

Executive Committee

  • Mary Ellen Goeke, Executive Director
  • Carissa Barnard, Deputy Director of Exhibitions and Programming
  • Kevin Moore, Artistic Director and Curator
  • Katherine Ryckman Siegwarth, Biennial Director
  • Sarah Klayer, Director of Events and Engagement
  • Vineeta Jindal, Director of Finance and Administration

Team Members

  • Jacob Drabik, Designer
  • Kristin Riepenhoff, Biennial Manager
  • Nina Parr, Events and Engagement Manager
  • Taylor Malikowski, Project Coordinator
  • Alyssa Konermann, Managing Editor and Contributing Writer: The Lens
  • Marie Janning, Executive Assistant
  • Amy Brownlee, Contributing Writer: The Lens
  • Brian Emch, Project Assistant

Board Members

  • Maureen France, President
  • Dr. Ren Egbert, Vice President and Secretary
  • Amanda Grace Louis, Treasurer
  • Cynthia Collins, Director
  • Melvin Grier, Director
  • Bruce Halpryn, Director